Pasta Sauce

I for one LOVE a good aubergine providing, as my aunt says, it ‘maintains it’s integrity’, and by that I mean I don’t like it to be over-cooked. I saw this in a recipe book and as it used lots of fancy ingredients that I can’t get in my tiny little town, I thought I’d adapt it.

Okay, so, the ingredients:

  • 1 large aubergine or 1 1/2 medium-ish ones.
  • 1 can chopped tomatoes
  • A pot of black olives
  • Coriander seeds or coriander seed powder (I used the latter because that’s all I could get)
  • A good glug of olive oil
  • 1 or 2 red chillies; I put in 1 1/2 and it gave it a gentle kick, but if you like it hot then by all means add more
  • A few squeezes of tomatoe puree, about a tablespoon
  • As much pasta as you’re going to eat – I used tagliatelli, but I don’t suppose it matters what type you’re using.
  1. First things first, put a glug of olive oil into a pan (I used a wok because it’s the only thing I could reach in the cupboard – I know, short person problems) and while you’re waiting for it to heat up, chop up the aubergine into cubes of about 1cm.
  2. Put the aubergine into the pan and sprinkle a teaspoon of coriander seed powder (or crushed coriander seed) on top. Make sure all of the aubergine is covered in it. Chop up the chillies into small pieces and put them in too, and then leave it until the aubergine’s soft.
  3. IMG_2039.JPG When they have softened to your liking, pour the can of tomatoes over the top, chop up the black olives and put them in too, then stir in the tomatoe puree, just to give a bit more depth of flavour.
  4. Leave this to simmer until it’s the consistency you want it.
  5. Cook up your pasta and when it’s all ready, serve it up with some grated cheese or a handful of basil. I know the pictures don’t make it look so good, but trust me, it’s delicious!

Enjoy it!

IMG_2041.JPG

Leave a Reply

