I Made A Battenburg Cake!

I won’t go into details about the recipe because it wasn’t mine and I followed it exactly. It was written by my queen, Mary Berry, so I had faith that it would work (providing my skills were up to it). Guess what – it actually worked!

IMG_1686
The Berry’s recipe on the pretty recipe book stand we have on a freshly polished windowsill and squeaky clean windows (which I cleaned with my own cleaner, the recipe of which can be found in a previous post)
IMG_1690
Mid-construction. An intense procedure. I was scared to take a photo lest it would collapse when I went to get the camera, but it remained in one piece.
IMG_1691
Then we wrapped it in marzipan. It required turning four strips of delicately joined cake glued only with jam three hundred and sixty degrees. The. Pressure. Was. Immense.
IMG_1695
What it looks like inside. Rather fab!
2 thoughts on “I Made A Battenburg Cake!

Leave a Reply

